Using Bird Blinds

   Using a bird blind is somthing I have just recently started doing. So far I have used it twice. It is a great oppertunity to view birds and other wildlife up close, and also get close enough to take some really good, zommed photos.Using a bird blind, you just need to have a little patience. If you have a feeder set up, the birds will be there in no time. If you really get into it, set up some props, like pine branches placed in strategic places so you can photographh birds on the branches. Once the birds come around after you are safely hidden in the blind, just stick your camera right out of the viewing opening and snap away. Using a blind is a great way to get up close for getting that perfect zoomed shot of whatever bird you wanted to get a perfect zoomed shot of.

   I am actually using an old ten for a blind and just sticking the camera out of the bottom of the door which I leave unzipped. Below are some photos that I have taken from my blind. First is a photo of the tent I use (although covered in snow).

 

My Blind

 

Eastern Towhee (AKA Rufous-sided towhee)

 

White-Throated Sparrow

 

Chipping Sparrow

 

   So far I haven't gotten any spectacular photos, but I'll kepp on trying. I did get my first decent photo of an eastern towhee, though. I need to move the blind just a little bit closer to the corn (that is what brought the birds in so that I could photograph them) so I can zoom in more on the small birds.

 

   On the inside of the blind I have a 21/2' wide X 6' long piece of plastic that I lay on so I don't get wet when snow or water gets into the tent. I just lift it up and shake of the water or snow and lay it back down. It keep the snow from melting on me and getting me wet and cold, and in the warm weather (in which I haven't used it yet), it would keep me from getting wet and angry.

  

   Your methods may vary, but the results should be the same. Photos of birds you otherwise couldn't get photos of. I got the bird blind idea when I would wait at the corn for 45 minutes, but since the birds could see my slightest movement, they would never come near me. I even chased the towhees through the woods, and they would hide in the brush and I couldn't get withing 12 feet of them for a photo. So I used the blind approach. Now the towhees are about 13 feet away in plain view, and don't even know that I am there! It is pretty great. Now I just have to wait until I get a perfect shot!

Comment on this article!

No comments found.

New comment